How to cut cheese and why does the world need problem solvers?

Image

I have a rectangular piece of Swiss cheese with a round hole.

How do I cut the piece of cheese with one straight line into two parts of equal weight?

I tried to cut along a diagonal line, weighed it, and found that they were not equal. Oops!

My experience tells me that a line must go through 2 points. One point belongs to the rectangle, while another belongs to the hole. Therefore, my cut now goes through the centers of these two shapes and I have two pieces of equal weight.

Image

Simple!

When I was an young boy, I solved dozens of problems like this everyday. They became more difficult every time. Now, working as a business developer at a high tech company, my colleagues and I solve more serious and complex problems for our business on a regular basis.

I urge kids to increase their talent and sharpen their mind by practicing these types of problems, starting with simple problems and increasing the difficulty level, such as by solving puzzles at the website aplusclick.com. Of course, this will take effort and time; but trust me when I say that you will be able to experience an interesting, rewarding, and exciting life in return.

The world needs innovative creators who are able to solve problems! Practice makes perfect!

About aplusclick
about.me/igor.kokcharov

One Response to How to cut cheese and why does the world need problem solvers?

  1. Pingback: WSJ: Mathematician is The Best Job | A+Click

Leave a Reply

